home race results rule, prizes, payouts The Vette Doctors Pro 8 Shootout Heads Up Racing points standings and driver information pictures of previous corvette challenge events videos of previous corvette challenge events a list of all corvette challenges everywhere learn about the corvette challenge contact us
points standings and driver information
Today is Saturday March 17, 2018      
2014 Schedule
2014 Schedule
2014 Standings
Current Standings

Paul Ziajski Wins His First Pro 8 Shootout

Qualifiers - The Vette Doctors Pro 8 Shootout presented by Neverlift Racecraft
1Angelo Valla 8.762163.79 
2Paul Ziajski 9.482146.24 
3Mark Shaw 9.901137.37 
4John Carter 10.274136.30 
5Doug Ring 10.334138.94 
6Mike Conway 10.385131.42 
7Paul Major 11.080119.39 
8Chris Coriell 11.819112.21 
  D - Declined, NP - Non Points
06/11/05 - Englishtown, NJ The second Vette Doctors Pro 8 Shootout presented by Neverlift Racecraft produced the first event win for a turbo Vette....Twin Turbo to be exact. Three Vettes qualified at the top of the field in the 9-second and better range with Mark Shaw making his first Pro 8 appearance of 2005 being one of them. Noticeably missing was previous event winner and 2004 Champion, Mike Mitchell, who apparently has sold his car as stated on the Corvette Forum.


Angelo Valla topped the qualifying in both ET, 8.762 and MPH, 163.79 in his big block nitrous fed Blue 72 Corvette. He was followed by event winner Paul Ziajski with the twin turbo C5 Black Vette with a 9.482 @ 146.24. Mark Shaw held the third spot with a 9.901 @ 137.37 with his Red 1970 C3 Corvette. The rest of the field with filled with series regulars, John Carter in his 2000 Convertible (10.274), Doug Ring in the 98 (10.334), Mike Conway in the reliable 97 Torch Red C5 (10.385), Paul Major in the blue C2 convertible (11.080) and Chris Coriell (11.819)

runnerup John Carter Vette Doctors Pro 8 Shootout group shot race 1 of 2005 Winner Paul Ziajski
Runnerup John Carter Vette Doctors Pro 8 Shootout group shot race 2 of 2005 Winner Paul Ziajski

Round 1

First out on the track were Paul Ziajski (2) and Paul Major (7). Major's C5 was not ready for this race so he went with the backup car, the C2 convertible. Anyone could have predicted that Paul would win the race....just kidding. One paper, Ziajski had a huge advantage. Ziajski left Major at the tree and crossed the finish line ahead of him with a 10.472 run to Major's 10.989 run in the C2. The next matchup with Mark Shaw (3) vs. Mike Conway (6) was closer. Shaw had a less than desirable reaction time coupled with a 10.046 ET to Conway’s better light, .185 and 10.479 ET. In the very close final, Shaw got the win by .1032. Third pair, Angelo Valla (1) was not as close as Valla's 9.908 was more than enough to cover Chris Coriell's (8) 11.595. The final pair out was a bit of a wild one. John Carter (4) took on Doug Ring (5). Each driver had an issue but it was Carter with a blistering 34.450 ET taking the win. Goes to show, anything can happen.

Round 2

Carter (4) would again provide us some excitement when this time paired with Angelo Valla (1) he took the win. Valla spun as he got out of the hole with .423 light to Carter's .220 light. Valla chased as hard as he could but he just ran out of track as Carter took the hole shot win with a 10.525 to 10.360. The win was had by only .0388. Again, anything can happen as Valla's Vette is 8-second capable. The next semi-final pair was a matchup of two 9-second cars, Paul Ziajski (2) and Mark Shaw (3). Ziajski cut a stellar .079 light and treed Shaw who seemed to have some trouble with the tree. Shaw did not have enough to make up for the tree though enough to excite the fans as his 9.897 run fell short of Ziajski's 9.599.

Round 3 - The Final

Paul Ziajski (1) now in his first final was to face John Carter (4) who has already won one of these. The drivers qualified within a second of each other. Ziajski hit the tree on Carter with a .262 and roared on to a huge margin win running 9.672 @ 145.23 to Carter's 12-second pass. Apparently Carter had a nitrous issue.

Congratulations to Paul Ziajski who has had a long hard journey to get to where he is and said "Thanks a lot, guys. I'm very happy about having won my first Pro 8. A little bit of luck and some driving really helped me this afternoon. I REALLY appreciate the genuine congratulations from some of my fellow racers who knew how badly I struggled with this car last year."

Awards and Payouts Today

  • Winner Paul Ziajski received trophy and $100 Cash courtesy of The Vette Doctors and Neverlift Racecraft
  • Runner-up John Carter received a plaque and $50 from The Vette Doctors and Neverlift Racecraft
  • Number 1 Qualifier Angelo Valla received a plaque
  • John Carter received the Best Reaction Time plaque for the best winning reaction time in the first round at .262

Points Standings - Ziajski Takes Over the Points Lead

2005 Vette Doctors Pro 8 Shootout Points Standings
2005 R1 R2 R3
2005 R4 R5 R6

Pictures and Videos

To see video of Pro 8 and other races visit
Picture gallery from Alan click here
To congratulate the drivers click here
Click here for Bracket Results from today.

modified: December 31, 1969 - 7:00 pm

Series Sponsors
East Coast Supercharging
East Coast Supercharging

Yank Converters
Yank Racing Converters

Simple Man Racing
Simple Man

CFM Racing
CFM Racing

Pro Torque converters
Pro Torque

Pro 11.50 Index

Fisher Automotive
Fisher Automotive, 506 East Main Street
Bound Brook, N.J. 08805
(732) 469-0986

AMP Racing
AMP Racing

Thrust Performance
Thrust Performance, 928 Route 9 South
South Amboy, N.J. 08879
(732) 952-2238

Cool-Aid Company
Cool-Aid Company

Best Western, East Brunswick
Best Western,
East Brunswick, NJ

Pro 10.50 Index

Anger Management Racing
Anger Management Racing

Van Wickle Auto Supply NAPA

Point Pleasant

Spring Lake Heights


become a sponsor
Inquire here
Favorite Links

Raceway Park
Raceway Park Store
how to drag race
how to launch a Z06 with slicks
how to launch a Z06 with drag radials
corvette forum
6-speed burnout tip
other links
Buy Video